On Thursday, August 23, 2018, the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs approved by unanimous voice vote the nomination of Elad Roisman for Commissioner of the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Nominated on June 1, 2018, by President Trump, Mr. Roisman would fill the vacancy created by former Commissioner Michael Piwowar’s resignation and serve a term of five years. Mr. Roisman is President Trump’s fourth nomination to the SEC, following the nominations of SEC Chair Jay Clayton, Commissioner Hester Peirce, and Commissioner Robert Jackson.

A date for a full Senate confirmation has yet to be set.